Managing Workspaces | What’s a Workspace?

The “Workspace” is where Connecter keeps a bunch of information, like:

  • All custom previews of your assets.
  • All root folders you add to Connecter
  • Starred, hidden and removed files or folders
  • All kinds of cached data like files thumbnails, indexed files and folders, etc.
  • Your individual settings like Connecter UI layout and size, supported file types and other preferences.

When you start Connecter for the first time you’ll need to create your workspace. You can choose to create a Personal or Team workspace.

To see where your current workspace is located and its status go to Edit > Workspaces

Managing Workspaces | General guide

When you start Connecter for the first time you’ll need to create your workspace. You can choose to create a Personal or Team workspace.

If you have an existing workspace left from a previous installation of Connecter, you can activate it by clicking the “Browse” button an selecting its location.

Once the workspace has been successfully created (or activated) and Connecter launches, you can access and manage your workspaces from Edit menu > Workspaces:

Managing Workspaces | Missing workspace

If for any reason Connecter is not able to load its workspace it won’t start. Instead, you’ll get this interface with an information about the missing workspace plus options to create a new or activate an existing workspace.

Your workspace could be missing due to the following reasons:

  • The folder where the workspace is located is missing or Connecter is not able to access it
  • Some workspace files or/and folders has been deleted or removed and Connecter in no longer able to initialize the workspace

Managing Workspaces | Team workspace

Team workspace allows multiple users within a team to collaborate by using a single shared workspace. All changes made by one user will be synchronized in real time with the rest of the team members. Keep in mind that the normal shared workspace is limited to 5 users that are simultaneously connected to it. If your team is bigger than that you should opt for Connecter Server. The workspaces created in Connecter Server are not discussed in this section of the Guide.

When you create a new Team workspace you will need to select a network or a shared folder so that all other team members are able to connect to the workspace. If you choose a local and not shared folder Connecter will not create the workspace.

Make sure that you have full access to the folder - this means that you will be able to create, edit and lock files. Without these permissions Connecter won't work properly. Contact your network administrator if you need help with the permissions and security settings.

When you create a new Team workspace you’ll need to assign a password which will be used to manage the workspace. You’ll also need to type in a name (alias) you’ll use to connect to the workspace with.

Though both username and password are grouped in a single interface, they are not related with each other. The username is the name which each Connecter (installed on different PCs) will use to connect to the shared workspace. So if you’re a team of four, there will be four Connecter instances each having its unique name for accessing the Team workspace.

In order to manage team users and their access rights within the shared Team workspace, you’ll just need this password and a Connecter which is connected to the workspace. This means that you can set up a Team workspace from one instance of Connecter and then manage it from every other Connecter.

To manage a Team workspace go to Edit menu > Workspaces and then click Manage button and then type in the password used to create the workspace.

In the “Manage team members” interface you will see all members who have successfully connected to the shared Team workspace. You can grant a selected member full permissions (read, write and edit) or just a read access. A member with read-only access will not be able to make any changes in the workspace (add custom previews, categories, remove or add folders, etc.) but will still be able to personalize by using options like: starring and hiding of files and folders, filtering folders, change Connecter settings and others.

Managing Workspaces | Personal or a Team workspace?

Personal workspace is designed for individual 3d artists while Team workspace lets teams collaborate within a single shared workspace and have all data synchronized between all members of the team. So:

  • If you’re a freelance artist or a one-man studio you most probably need a simple Personal workspace environment.
  • If you’re a team and need to share a single workspace among multiple computers/users then you’ll need to set up a Team workspace.

Managing Workspaces | Shared workspaces visual guide

We’ve illustrated the most typical use cases of using Connecter on multiple machines or in a Teamwork environment.

The most simple setup is to have all your assets plus Connecter’s workspace on an external drive. It’s important to have the external drive under the same name (e.g. D:\, E:\, etc.) across all your computers (desktop PC and laptop for example) so that all paths to folders and assets in Connecter stay intact. If for examples on your laptop the assets are in D:\assets\ but when you attach the external drive to your other computer it’s E:\assets\, Connecter will show all added folders as missing. In this case you can use the relocate option (right click on a missing folder) to show Connecter the new folder’s location.

Another option is to store all assets and workspace on a shared local network device (network drive, NAS, File server, etc.).

Another good option to share assets and workspace across multiple computers is to use Dropbox (or Drive or other similar service). It’s important that if you use Dropbox you must not use Connecter simultaneously on multiple computer as there’s a big risk to damage your workspace when Dropbox synchronizes the changes.

If multiple users will use Connecter simultaneously in a shared team environment you must create Team workspace and share it on a local network device (network drive, NAS, File server, etc.). The assets can be shared on the same(or other) location or via Dropbox (or Drive or other similar service).

 

If one or more team members are not part of the same local network they will need to access the shared Team workspace via VPN connection.

Managing Workspaces | Moving from Personal to Teamwork

When you create a new Team workspace you’ll be asked if you’d like to transfer your current Personal workspace data.